© 2019 by Ballet Laval.

TEAM

Veronica Martinelli

FOUNDER

Formed in classical ballet by Paul Goubé from l'Opéra de Paris, in contemporary dancing by Carolynn Carlson (NY) and Peter Goss (Paris), in Jazz by Lynn Simonson (NY) and Michael Owens (Paris). Taught in Paris, Milan, Rome and London. She has taught in Quebec since 1985 and has directed Centre de la Danse à Montréal. She founded the "Ateliers Veronica Martinelli" in 1994 to encourage the youth to express themselves , give them a taste for movement and raise their awareness for the art of dance. 

After 23 years of success in Laval, in 2016, the Ateliers take a turning point towards a more personalized teaching. In 2019, Veronica entrusts the direction to her daughters Sandrine et Claire. 

Sandrine Chouinard

DIRECTOR | PROFESSOR

Sandrine has studied for 25 years and taught for 15 years classical and contemporary dance. She has been performing for Les Grands Ballets Canadiens for 5 years, notably as Clara in The Nutcracker. Sandrine has participated in performances at numerous festivals and competitions. She has been awarded gold and silver medals in classical and contemporary ballet at the Trois Rivière International Dance Festival. At the same time, she took the Veronica Martinelli Workshop on Dance Pedagogy and shared her knowledge with children and adults of all levels. At the age of 26 she turned to yoga and took intensive training at Ashram Yoga Retreat Bahamas. Upon her return, she completed a second professorial yoga training program at Soham School in Montreal. Sandrine will be teaching ballet, contemporary dance and yoga for Ballet Laval in September 2019.

Claire Lefebvre

DIRECTOR | PROFESSOR

Claire has been trained in classical ballet and modern dance with Veronica Martinelli since 1985 as well as with other ballet teachers who taught in our school. During her training, she performed in various festivals and dance shows, both in France and in Quebec. Since 1996, she has been Veronica's assistant for teaching children and for beginner and elementary level ballet classes. She took a specific training course in dance education in 1998 to be in charge of classes since 1999. Since then, she has distinguished herself in the teaching of ballet with children by her enthusiasm and approach by the pleasure of dance that allows children to improve while developing a passion for the art of dance! In addition to teaching ballet continuously since 1999, Claire earned a Master's degree in Art History and specialized in dance history with passion. Since 2006, she has been teaching art history at the college level, and offers lectures and courses in dance history.

© 2019 by Ballet Laval.

ÉQUIPE

Veronica Martinelli

FONDATRICE

Formée en ballet classique par Paul Goubé de l'Opéra de Paris, en danse moderne et contemporaine par Carolynn Carlson (NY) et Peter Goss (Paris), en Jazz par Lynn Simonson (NY) et Michael Owens (Paris). A enseigné à Paris, Milan, Rome, Londres. Elle enseigne au Québec depuis 1985 et a dirigé le Centre de la Danse à Montréal. Elle fonde les "Ateliers Veronica Martinelli" en 1994 afin d'encourager les jeunes à s'exprimer, leur donner le goût du mouvement et les sensibiliser à l'art de la danse. 

Après 23 ans de succès à Laval, en 2016, les Ateliers prennent un tournant vers un enseignement plus personnalisé. En 2019, Veronica confie la direction à ses filles Sandrine et Claire. 

Sandrine Chouinard

DIRECTRICE | PROFESSEURE

Sandrine a étudié et enseigné la danse classique et contemporaine pendant 10 ans. Elle a été interprète pour les Grands Ballets Canadiens pendant 5 ans, notamment dans le rôle de Clara dans Casse Noisette. Sandrine  a participé à des performances lors de nombreux festivals et concours. Elle a été récipiendaire des médailles or et argent en ballet classique et contemporain du Festival International de Danse Encore de Trois Rivière. En parallèle elle a suivi le cours de Pédagogie appliquée à la danse des Ateliers Veronica Martinelli et  a partagé son savoir avec des enfants ainsi que des adultes de tous niveaux. À l’âge de 26 ans elle se tourne vers le yoga et prend une formation intensive au Ashram Yoga Retreat Bahamas. À son retour elle complête une deuxième formation professorale de yoga à l’école Soham à Montréal. Sandrine enseignera le ballet, le contemporain et le yoga pour Ballet Laval dès septembre 2019.

Claire Lefebvre

DIRECTRICE | PROFESSEURE

Claire a été formée en ballet classique et danse moderne auprès de Veronica Martinelli depuis 1985 ainsi qu’auprès d’autres professeurs de ballet ayant enseigné dans notre école. Au cours de sa formation, elle a performé dans divers festivals et spectacles de danse, tant en France qu’au Québec. Dès 1996, elle fut assistante de Veronica pour l’enseignement aux enfants et pour les cours de ballet des niveaux débutant et élémentaire. Elle a suivi une formation spécifique en pédagogie appliquée à la danse en 1998 afin de pouvoir être chargée de classes dès 1999. Depuis, elle s’est démarquée dans l’enseignement du ballet auprès des enfants par son enthousiasme et son approche par le plaisir de danser qui permet aux enfants de s’améliorer tout en développant une passion pour l’art de la danse!

Parallèlement à son enseignement du ballet en continu depuis 1999, Claire a obtenu une maîtrise en histoire de l’art et s’est spécialisée, par passion, en histoire de la danse. Elle enseigne depuis 2006 l’histoire de l’art au niveau collégial, et offre des conférences et des cours en histoire de la danse.